Prof. Gerd Assmann, MD (DE)

Home »  Archive »  3rd Cardionale 2012 »  Speakers »  Prof. Gerd Assmann, MD (DE)

Board member, PrevaMed GmbH, Chairman of the Board, Assmann-Foundation for Prevention

Universities of Köln, Freiburg, Düsseldorf
MD: University of Düsseldorf
Privatdozent: University of Köln
Professor: University of Münster

Chronology of Employment:
1969 – 1972 Research Fellowship: Institute of Physiological Chemistry at the University of Köln (Head: Prof. Dr. Dr. W. Stoffel)
1972 – 1974 International Postdoctoral Fellowship and Visiting Scientist: National Institutes of Health, Education and Welfare, National Heart and Lung Institute, Bethesda, Md, USA (Director: D.S. Fredrickson, MD)
1974 – 1977 Member of the research staff, Department of Clinical Chemistry and Central Laboratory, University Clinics, Köln
1977 – 1983 Head, Central Laboratory of the University Clinics, Münster
1983 – August 2007 Director, Institute of Clinical Chemistry and Laboratory Medicine, University of Münster, C4-Professor
1984 – August 2007 Acting Director, Leibniz-Institute of Arteriosclerosis Research, University of Münster
since 2004 Chairman of the Board, Assmann-Foundation for Prevention
since 2004 Board member, PrevaMed GmbH

Research interests:
Lipoproteins, lipid transport and metabolism, medical genetics;
biotechnology, academic and industrial;
epidemiology of atherosclerosis

Honours and special recognitions:
1977 Heinrich-Wieland Prize
1984 Instand-Prize
1987 Hoppe-Seyler-Prize
1987 Ratschow-Gedächtnis-Medaille
1988 – 1990 President of the German Society of Arteriosclerosis Research
1990 – 1995 Chairman of the „National Cardiovascular Initiative“
1991 – present Member of the „Nordrhein-Westfälische Akademie der Wissenschaften“
1994 – 2005 Member, Selection Committee, IOC Olympic Prize
1995 – 2003 Chairman of the International Task Force for Prevention of Coronary Heart Disease
1996 – present Honorary Member of the Association of American Physicians
1998 – present Fellow of the Royal College of Physicians (FRCP)
1999 – 2000 President of the German Society of Laboratory Medicine
2000 – present Member, German Academy of Sciences „Leopoldina“
2001 – present Honorary Member of the Atherosclerosis Society, Turkey
2002 – present Honorary Member of the Atherosclerosis Society, Poland
2003 – present Executive Director of the International Task Force for Prevention of Coronary Heart Disease
2004 – present Vice-President of the European Society for Cardiovascular Prevention
2004 ÖGKC-ÖGLM Roche Prize – prize of the Austrian Society of Clinical Chemistry and the Austrian Society of Laboratory Medicine
2004 – present President of the Board of Trustees of the Assmann-Foundation of Prevention.
2006 G.B. Morgagni Prize, Padova
2006 Schönheimer Medal
2007 Distinguished Fellow of the International Atherosclerosis Society
2007 Fernandez-Cruz-Foundation Award, Madrid
2007 Lorenzini-Foundation Gold Medal, New York

approx. 1.000 scientific articles, reviews, books